Skip to content

Transcriptions & Schoenberg

09/10/2013

Works of art make rules; rules do not make works of art.

A few days ago, whilst losing a polo match, I found myself transcribing in-between chukkas. This is pretty much how all conductors spend their ‘free’ time – we transcribe. Always. It’s in our academic nature. Then later, at our post-game supper, I had an interesting discussion with a club member about atonality, modern-classical music and Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht / Pierrot Lunaire.

It goes without saying that I hate Schoenberg but what I hate most is students having to struggle with him. So, I scoured JSTOR (can’t believe my old conservatoire still allows me access) and found what I think are a definitive duo of essays on Schoenberg – covering tonal relations and motivic transformations. Here they are:

Tonal Relations in Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht

&

Motivic Transformations and Networks in Schoenberg’s Pierrot Lunaire

As you chow down on the aforementioned take sometime to enjoy performing my, piano / guitar / vocal, transcriptions of Yoko Kanno, Shakespeares Sister and the Chili Peppers. Anyone wanting to transfer any of these in to Sibelius then your best bet is to use PhotoScore. Enjoy:-

Voices (Yoko Kanno, 1994)

Yoko Kanno has always been one of my all-time favourite composers. Everyone knows her for the fantastic work she and The Seatbelts put into Cowboy Bebop. Voices, however, is one of those beautifully lilting – almost ephemeral – songs that is terribly unappreciated. Not only is this a must listen for any fans of Kanno-sensei’s work but so is it’s film, Macross Plus.

Voices (I)

Voices (I)

Voices (II)

Voices (II)

Stay (Shakespeares Sister, 1992)

The year is 2001, I’m in prep-school and I have this major crush this one particular girl that I end up deciding that I’d like everything she does: Anime; Manga; Cold pizza, L’Arc-en’ciel and Shakespeares Sister. I even had a dream where she’d sung this song as I played piano. I don’t like Stay as much now as I did then, but it is lovely when performed well.

Stay (I)

Stay (I)

Stay (II)

Stay (II)

Under the Bridge (Red Hot Chili Peppers, 1991)

What more can I say? Fantastic lyrics! Excellent melody! And great to sing when absolutely high and drunk off your ass; ironically. This transcription is from the VPRO Amsterdam interview in 1992; because nothing beats John Frusciante on a fucking acoustic!

Under the Bridge (I)

Under the Bridge (I)

Under the Bridge (II)

Under the Bridge (II)

Under the Bridge (III)

Under the Bridge (III)

At the end of our lives we look back and think our childhood was Arcadia.

From → Film, Music

One Comment
  1. That is really fascinating, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look ahead to searching for extra of your wonderful post.
    Additionally, I have shared your site in my social networks

Do Reply

